Malt flavoring is most often derived from barley. Malt flavoring is typically a sweet, light flavor that can be added to ice creams, milk, puddings and many other sweet foods and beverages. Malt is, in its simplest terms, linked to the brewing of beer. However, the world of an actual malt flavor goes much farther then that.
If you are looking to create new items for your menu or product line using malt flavoring, the possibilities are endless. Consider the following ways to incorporate malt flavoring:
1. Malt flavoring can sweeten milk-based products such as ice cream and pudding.
2. Use malt flavoring to spice up baked goods.
3. Think about any dietary restrictions that using malt flavoring may elicit.
Think about creating a new ice cream or pudding using malt flavoringThere are several different ways to incorporate the rich flavor of malt. Malt can be combined with other sweet flavors or stand on its own, depending on the flavor profile that you are looking for.
Consider adding malt flavoring to your baked goodsMalt flavoring can be used as a natural sweetener for your products. Barley malt can be purchased in many different forms, including concentrate, liquid and powder.
Be aware of dietary restrictions that are associated with malt flavoringSince malt flavoring is usually made from barley, malt flavoring information states that it is not safe for those suffering from celiac disease. Celiac is the inability to digest gluten, which is found in grains such as barley and wheat.
- Because malt is often associated with the brewing of beer, it wouldn't hurt to define to your diners or potential buyers what the flavor profile of malt actually is. Describe the sweet, rich flavor that can be achieved by using malt flavor. Some customers may shy away if they are unsure of what malt flavoring can do to enhance a product.