Property Assessors Offices - Tennessee Education and Training
Get the training to become a property assessor in TennesseeProperty assessors offices in Tennessee education and training will teach you how to appraise personal and real and personal property in order to estimate its fair market value. Property assessors may also assess property for the purpose of setting property taxes in accordance with a prescribed schedule.
The requirements needed to become a Tennessee property tax assessor are complex and vary by the type and value of the property being appraised. Generally, these requirements may be grouped in the following categories:
1. Education. While there are no formal degree requirements for a state of Tennessee property assessor, most practicing assessors have at least a bachelor’s degree, preferably in economics, finance or real estate. However, the specific courses that a property assessor needs are usually taken at a community college or professional assessor organization.
2. On-the-job training. This is required to obtain a Tennessee assessors license or certification and should be acquired in the office of an independent fee appraiser, if possible.
3. Licensure. Federal law requires that TN property assessors have a state-issued license if they will be involved in transactions requiring a federal loan of $250,000 or more.
Complete the courses needed to be a TN property tax assessor
Get on-the-job training for Tennessee property assessmentJob training for property appraisers in Tennessee has specific requirements, as laid out by the Tennessee Real Estate Appraisers Board. These requirements stipulate the length of time the training must take, the way in which the mentor must monitor the process, and the type of experience the trainee must acquire.
Tennessee Department of State has the Rules of the Tennessee Real Estate Appraiser Commission, including those regarding the evaluation of appraiser experience.
Become a licensed property assessor for TennesseeTennessee recognizes three categories of appraisers. A State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser can appraise noncomplex residential units of up to $1,000,000. A State Certified Residential Appraiser can appraise all types of residential property and other types of property valued at less than $250,000. A State Certified General Appraiser can appraise all types of real property.
- Tennessee property assessors must meet the minimum certification and licensing requirements established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation. However, many states have more stringent licensing requirements than those required by the AQB. For example, a state may require an appraisal license for all appraisers regardless of the transaction value of the property.
Copyright © 2013 Business.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.