Property Assessors Offices - Missouri Education and Training
Get the training to perform Missouri property assessmentsProperty assessors offices in Missouri education and training will teach you how to appraise personal and real and personal property in order to estimate its fair market value. Property assessors may also assess property for the purpose of setting a Missouri property tax in accordance with a prescribed schedule.
The requirements needed to work in property assessors offices for Missouri are complex and vary by the type and value of the property being appraised. Generally, these requirements may be grouped in the following categories:
1. Education. While there are no formal degree requirements for Missouri assessors, most practicing assessors have at least a bachelor’s degree, preferably in economics, finance or real estate. However, the specific courses that a property assessor needs are usually taken at a community college or professional assessor organization.
2. On-the-job training. This is required to obtain a license or certification and should be acquired in the office of an independent fee appraiser, if possible.
3. Licensure. Federal law requires that property appraisers have a state-issued license if they will be involved in transactions requiring a federal loan of $250,000 or more.
Complete the courses needed to perform a Missouri property valuation
St. Loius Community College offers an Associate in Applied Science Degree in Real Estate that meets the educational requirements for appraisers in Missouri.
Get on-the-job training for Missouri property assessmentJob training for property appraisers in Missouri has specific requirements, as laid out by the Missouri Real Estate Appraisers Board. These requirements stipulate the length of time the training must take, the way in which the mentor must monitor the process, and the type of experience the trainee must acquire.
Become licensed to perform Missouri home assessmentsMissouri recognizes three categories of appraisers. State Licensed appraisers can perform residential appraisals with a value less than $1,000,000. A certified residential appraiser may only appraise residential property, and a certified general appraiser can appraise all types of property.
- Missouri county assessors must meet the minimum certification and licensing requirements established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation. However, many states have more stringent licensing requirements than those required by the AQB. For example, a state may require an appraisal license for all appraisers regardless of the transaction value of the property.
Copyright © 2013 Business.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.