Property Assessors Offices - South Dakota Education and Training
Get the training to work in a South Dakota assessors officeProperty assessors offices in South Dakota education and training will teach you how to appraise personal and real and personal property in order to estimate its fair market value. Property assessors may also assess property for the purpose of setting property taxes in accordance with a prescribed schedule.
The requirements needed to become a South Dakota assessor are complex and vary by the type and value of the property being appraised. Generally, these requirements may be grouped in the following categories:
- Education. While there are no formal degree requirements for property assessors in South Dakota, most practicing assessors have at least a bachelor’s degree, preferably in economics, finance or real estate. However, the specific courses that a property assessor needs are usually taken at a community college or professional assessor organization.
- On-the-job training. This is required to obtain a license or certification and should be acquired in the office of an independent fee appraiser, if possible.
- Licensure. Federal law requires that South Dakota property assessors have a state-issued license if they will be involved in transactions requiring a federal loan of $250,000 or more.
Complete the courses needed to work in a South Dakota assessors office
Get on-the-job training to perform a South Dakota property assessmentJob training for South Dakota property appraisers has specific requirements, as laid out by the South Dakota Real Estate Appraisers Board. These requirements stipulate the length of time the training must take, the way in which the mentor must monitor the process and the type of experience the trainee must acquire.
Become a licensed South Dakota property tax assessorSouth Dakota recognizes four categories of appraisers. A state registered appraiser may perform appraisals on property worth less than $250,000 and a licensed appraiser may also appraise residential property of up to $1,000,000. A certified residential appraiser can perform appraisals on non-residential worth less than $250,000 and residential property of any value. A certified general appraiser can perform appraisals on all types of property.
- South Dakota property assessors must meet the minimum certification and licensing requirements established by the AQB of the Appraisal Foundation. However, many states have more stringent licensing requirements than those required by the AQB. For example, a state may require an appraisal license for all appraisers regardless of the transaction value of the property.
Copyright © 2013 Business.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.