Property Assessors Offices - Texas Education and Training
Get the training to become a property assessor in TexasEmployees who undergo property assessors offices in Texas education and training must be able to determine the fair market value of real estate and personal property. Property assessors who work for the government may also assess property taxes by appraising the property and using prescribed tax schedules.
The qualifications necessary to work in property assessors offices for Texas primarily depend on the value of the property and manner in which the transaction will be financed. These requirements can be grouped into three general categories:
1. Education. Property assessors in Texas usually hold at least a bachelor’s degree, preferably in economics, finance or real estate. A property assessor will also need to complete additional coursework that is specific to property appraisal. This specialized education is usually taken from a community college or professional organization for appraisers.
2. Experience. Property appraisers will also need to acquire on the job training under the supervision of a qualified professional appraiser.
3. Licenses and certifications. Appraisers who perform property appraisals are required by federal law to have a license if the transaction will involve a federal loan of $250,000 or more.
Complete the courses needed to perform Texas property assessments
Get on-the-job training for Texas property assessmentJob training for property appraisers in Texas has specific requirements, as laid out by the Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board. These requirements stipulate the length of time the training must take, the way in which the mentor must monitor the process, and the type of experience the trainee must acquire.
Become a licensed Texas property assessorTexas recognizes four categories of appraisers. An appraiser trainer performs appraisals under the supervision of a licensed appraiser. A certified residential appraiser may appraise residential properties. A state licensed appraiser may appraise residential properties when the transaction value is less than $1,000,000. A certified general appraiser may appraise all types of real property.
- Texas property assessors must meet the minimum certification and licensing requirements established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation. However, many states have more stringent licensing requirements than those required by the AQB. For example, a state may require an appraisal license for all appraisers regardless of the transaction value of the property.
Copyright © 2013 Business.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.