Property Assessors Offices - Washington Education and Training
Get the training to become a Washington assessorProperty assessors offices in Washington education and training will teach you how to appraise personal and real and personal property in order to estimate its fair market value. Property assessors may also assess property for the purpose of setting property taxes in accordance with a prescribed schedule.
The requirements needed to become a Washington state property assessor are complex and vary by the type and value of the property being appraised. Generally, these requirements may be grouped in the following categories:
- Education. While there are no formal degree requirements for Washington property tax assessors, most practicing assessors have at least a bachelor’s degree, preferably in economics, finance or real estate. However, the specific courses that a property assessor needs are usually taken at a community college or professional assessor organization.
- On-the-job training. This is required to obtain a license or certification and should be acquired in the office of an independent fee appraiser, if possible.
- Licensure. Federal law requires that Washington property assessors have a state-issued license if they will be involved in transactions requiring a federal loan of $250,000 or more.
Complete the courses needed to perform Washington property assessments
Pierce College Continuing Education provides the approved pre-licensing training need to become a Washington appraiser.
Get on-the-job training to perform a Washington property assessmentJob training for performing property assessment in Washington has specific requirements, as laid out by the Washington Real Estate Appraisers Board. These requirements stipulate the length of time the training must take, the way in which the mentor must monitor the process, and the type of experience the trainee must acquire.
Washington State Department of Licensing provides the amount of work experience required for each type of appraiser in Washington. The Washington State Legislature provides the specific documentation requirements for an appraiser's work experience in Washington.
Become one of the licensed property assessors in WashingtonWashington recognizes four categories of appraisers. A trainee must work under the direct supervision of a licensed appraiser. A state licensed appraiser may perform appraisals on residential property worth up to $1,000,000 and non-residential property worth up to $250,000. A state certified residential appraiser may work on residential property of any value and non-residential property worth up to $250,000. A certified general appraiser can perform appraisals on all types of property.
Rockwell Institute provides the requirements for getting an appraiser trainee license.
- Washington property assessors must meet the minimum certification and licensing requirements established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation. However, many states have more stringent licensing requirements than those required by the AQB. For example, a state may require an appraisal license for all appraisers regardless of the transaction value of the property.
Copyright © 2013 Business.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.