business.com receives compensation from some of the companies listed on this page. Advertising Disclosure
ArrowFinance

Clover Credit Card Processing Review and Pricing

Updated Nov 08, 2023

Table of Contents

Open row
Editors Score:9.2/10

Clover is our choice for the best POS credit card processor, thanks to its robust suite of tools, flat-rate pricing and well-designed POS hardware.

Thumbs Up Pros
  • Clover offers various pricing plans for its POS system and credit card processing based on business type, giving you choices and flexibility.
  • Clover's subscription plans do not charge on a per-employee basis. 
  • All of Clover's POS hardware is built in-house, so you don't need another vendor for your device needs. 
Thumbs Down Cons
  • Clover charges monthly subscription fees, and its hardware is pricier than some competitors’. 
  • High-volume businesses may pay more with Clover than other processors.
  • Clover's POS devices can't be used with other credit card processors. 
Clover logo
Editor's Rating9.2/10

Credit card processing is just one aspect of running a business. Brick-and-mortar and e-commerce stores also benefit from a robust point-of-sale (POS) system – which is where Clover shines. In addition to credit card processing, Clover stands out from competitors by offering POS software and hardware. You can also access customer management, marketing, inventory management and report generation tools.  

Clover Credit Card Processing Editor's Rating:

9.2 / 10

Pricing and fees
8.7/10
Customer service
8.5/10
Third-party integrations
9.8/10
Payment options
9.5/10
Added POS tools
9.8/10

Why We Chose Clover as the Best POS Credit Card Processor 

We chose Clover as the best credit card processor for POS because it provides business owners with solutions to meet all their POS needs. Clover’s software lets you accept credit card payments and many other digital payment methods. You can also process returns and exchanges, offer digital receipts and fast tipping, manage inventory, and generate reports. 

On the hardware side, Clover offers various POS devices, including card readers, terminals and handheld devices. We like that with Clover, you don’t have to shop around for separate vendors for your POS and credit card processing needs. For these reasons, Clover is our choice for the best POS credit card processor.  

Did You Know?Did you know

Clover allows your business to accept NFC mobile payments, including Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay.

Clover POS Hardware

Clover offers various POS hardware and software options to suit your business’s needs.  Source: Clover

Ease of Use

We tested Clover’s platform in-depth and found the interface easy and intuitive. Clover’s layout is logical, with separate tabs for reporting, orders, transactions, inventory and more. We appreciated that the virtual terminal tool is prominently displayed as a green button at the top – users will likely utilize this feature often. We feel that business owners and their teams won’t encounter difficulties or challenges learning how to use the system.

We found the virtual terminal straightforward to figure out. You can toggle between manually entering a customer’s payment information and sending an email invoice. The email invoice feature is particularly useful because an embedded link brings customers directly to the virtual terminal to enter their payment information. 

On the hardware side, we like that Clover’s devices are plug-and-play, with no technical ability required for setup. (Clover even includes a screwdriver in its packaging for products that require it.) Another great feature is the Clover Go app, which can be paired with the Clover Go device to turn your smartphone into an easy-to-use POS system. 

Clover desktop

Clover’s desktop layout is well organized. Source: Clover

Clover Features

Clover not only processes credit cards, but also provides a host of useful tools for accepting payments, managing inventory, e-commerce, integrations and more. Here’s an overview of key Clover features that we think business owners will find helpful.

Virtual Terminal 

We liked that Clover’s virtual terminal lets you accept and process credit card payments without hardware. You can accept credit and debit card payments from your Clover web dashboard, while end-to-end encryption ensures e-commerce website security with secure and PCI-compliant transactions. Sellers can manually enter a buyer’s credit card information or send invoices via email. The ability to enter credit card information manually will be particularly useful for businesses that accept credit card payments over the phone. We appreciated that you can use the dashboard to send invoices and receipts and store customers’ card information to speed up checkout. 

Inventory Management

We were impressed by Clover’s in-depth inventory management and monitoring features. You can import and export inventory lists and assign SKU numbers and other information. For example, you can include various product characteristics, such as different sizes and colors. When you sell a product, the system deducts it from your inventory count. When you’re out of stock, the item won’t appear available on online menus. Clover integrates with several third-party inventory management apps if your inventory needs are more complex.

Did You Know?Did you know

Clover’s inventory management features will help you avoid excess inventory, which ties up cash in products and can incur storage costs.

E-commerce

Clover provides customers with straightforward e-commerce tools to build an online store or website, synchronize orders, and manage inventory and customer data. Through the Clover dashboard, businesses can sell products, accept online payments, create menus and allow customers to book appointments. 

Customer Management and Marketing

Clover’s customer management and marketing tools are among our favorite features. With Clover, you can manage customers and build customer loyalty with customized deals and reward programs. You can also solicit customer feedback via the company’s customer engagement platform. In an era where customers often take out their displeasure on social media and online reviews, we believe this is a particularly valuable tool. You can also use the software to create customer profiles, send birthday rewards and email personalized offers.

When customers opt in to receive receipts by text, they are automatically enrolled in SMS marketing (they can opt out by unchecking the box.) We like how this process involves nearly zero friction. Customers can also create an account with your business using their phone number for faster ordering. The Clover app allows you to set up a profile page for your business, providing another avenue to engage customers and drum up more sales. 

Integrations

We were impressed that Clover integrates with 500 other third-party apps through its Clover App Market – by far the most integrations of any credit card processor we reviewed. For example, Clover integrates with many of the best accounting software solutions, including QuickBooks and Xero, and highly rated payroll software such as Gusto and ADP. Clover also integrates with many of the top e-commerce platforms, such as BigCommerce and Ecwid, as well as Instagram, Facebook, Amazon, Etsy and eBay.

TipBottom line

To learn more about the software Clover integrates with, check out our review of QuickBooks Online, our Xero review, our review of Gusto Payroll and our ADP payroll review.

Security

Clover has various built-in security features, including two-factor authentication for logging in and end-to-end encryption with tokenization for all transactions. Merchants that want additional security help to maintain PCI compliance can opt for the Clover Security Plus plan for an additional fee. 

Payouts

Deposits can take one to three days, but many businesses see their funds the next business day. If your business experiences a cash flow problem, for a 1% fee, you can select specific transactions that you want to receive funding for immediately with Clover’s Rapid Deposit. You can also take a cash advance against future credit card sales with Clover Capital.

Reporting

Software makes crucial data analytics for small businesses easier than ever. Clover’s POS software can run various reports on sales, inventory and employees. We like how you can track sales by product, employee and time period. We were impressed that reports can be generated on a very granular level, allowing business owners to view which products are selling on an hourly basis. You can also identify the best- and worst-performing products and manage staffing levels and inventory based on data collected at checkout. 

FYIDid you know

Clover’s POS reports identify which products are selling best and which employees are generating the most sales.

Clover POS System

In addition to credit card processing, Clover offers a one-stop shop for small businesses’ point-of-sale needs. This complete system includes proprietary POS hardware, online ordering software, gift cards and a well-regarded mobile app. 

POS Hardware

Clover is well known for its proprietary POS hardware that pairs with its credit card processing software, including card readers, terminals and handheld devices. The Clover Go is a small, square-shaped device that can be paired with a smartphone so you can accept credit card payments on a mobile phone. The Clover Flex and Cover Mini are two tablet-like POS devices that can be used to accept payments from your shop floor or right at the table in a restaurant. Clover’s highest-end device is the Station Duo, which functions as a traditional cash register and comes complete with a customer-facing touchpad. 

Clover POS and CCP hardware

Clover offers several POS devices that integrate with its credit card processing software.  Source: Clover

Online Ordering

Clover’s robust online ordering capabilities set it apart from its competitors. Many merchants, particularly restaurants, will appreciate these features. You can easily create an online menu, and Clover’s software handles order and payment processing. Customers can create an advance order for delivery or schedule a curbside pickup. To streamline delivery, Clover has partnered with DoorDash on a built-in integration. 

Clover streamlining delivery options

Clover makes it easy to streamline your delivery operations. Source: Clover

Gift Cards

We liked Clover’s extensive gift card features. It offers physical and digital gift cards with more than 70 design templates to choose from. You can also create your own gift card with customized brand images

FYIDid you know

Gift cards are an excellent customer loyalty program element. According to Blackhawk Network, over 90 percent of gift card recipients are willing to spend more than the amount on the card.

Mobile App

Not every provider we reviewed offered a mobile app, and Clover’s app is excellent. The Clover Go mobile app can be paired with the Clover Go device to turn your smartphone into a mobile POS system, allowing you to accept card payments on the go and accept mobile payments in restaurants. You can also access reports from the app and manage your business from anywhere. We were impressed that the mobile app maintains a 4.8 out of 5 score on Apple’s App Store, an exceptionally high rating compared to many small business apps. 

Clover mobile POS

Clover’s mobile POS app is highly rated by users. Source: Clover

Clover Pricing

We like that Clover’s pricing structure isn’t one-size-fits-all. In contrast, it offers various plans depending on business type and hardware needs. For every business category, Clover features three plan tiers (Starter, Standard and Advanced) with included POS hardware ranging from handheld terminals to full cash registers. Clover bundles its software and hardware into packages that can be purchased on an annual or monthly basis. These costs are as low as $14.95 for some Starter plans but can reach $290 for the full-service dining Advanced plan. 

Monthly costs for Clover’s six business categories are as follows: 

 

Starter

Standard

Advanced

Full-service dining

$150

$195

$290

Quick-service dining

$90

$130

$175

Retail shops

$60

$130

$175

Professional services

$14.95

$50

$120

Personal services

$50

$90

$130

Home and field services

$14.95

$49

$50

Processing Fees

In addition to the monthly or annual costs for bundled software and hardware, Clover charges credit card processing fees. This charge consists of a percentage of the total transaction amount plus a small fixed fee. Your processing fees will depend on your plan tier for the software and hardware bundle.  

  • Starter:5% + $0.10 for card-not-present transactions
  • Standard:5% + $0.10 for card-not-present transactions; 2.6% + $0.10 for card-present transactions
  • Advanced:5% + $0.10 for card-not-present transactions; 2.3%+ $0.10 for card-present transactions

Incidental Fees

If your customers’ charges don’t go through, there is a chargeback fee of $30 for credit cards and $25 for rejected ACH payments. There is also a $30 fee for disputed transactions, a PIN adjustment fee of $25 and a nonrefundable application fee of $149.

Did You Know?Did you know

A chargeback occurs when a cardholder asks their bank to reverse a credit card charge posted to their account. The processor may issue a chargeback fee in such cases.

Implementation and Onboarding

We were impressed by Clover’s wide availability. Various authorized dealers sell Clover systems, including financial institutions like Citi, PNC, SunTrust and Wells Fargo, and retailers like Restaurant Depot and Sam’s Club. More than 3,000 authorized partners sell Clover devices. However, you can also purchase a system directly on Clover’s website. 

When you purchase a software and hardware bundle, you must apply online for a merchant account. We like that Clover has a fast approval process and can ship hardware overnight in as little as one business day after approval. All Clover devices are shipped “payments-ready,” meaning you can start accepting payments immediately. 

Customer Service

We like that Clover offers 24/7 phone support for merchants. In an era where many companies have transitioned to automated support systems, it’s essential that business owners can get a human on the phone when they need help. Clover also provides support through email, and answers to many frequently asked questions are available on its website. 

Clover account login

Log in to your Clover account to access an extensive knowledge base.  Source: Clover

Limitations

While Clover provides top-notch POS hardware and software, the downside of its bundle approach is that you’re locked into the Clover ecosystem. Clover’s credit card processing and POS services are designed to work as an integrated system, and the hardware and software aren’t compatible with competitors’ offerings. Clover also charges a monthly subscription even if you aren’t using its hardware, and the company’s processing fees are significantly higher than those of some alternatives we reviewed. 

On independent, user-generated review sites, we noted that many Clover merchants complained about long hold times for customer service and the difficulty of canceling Clover’s services. We advise business owners to carefully review the terms of service, regardless of which credit card processor they choose. 

Methodology

We researched and analyzed leading credit card processors to find the best credit card processors for small businesses. We investigated demos and free trials, carefully examined user reviews, and interacted with each vendor’s customer service team. We evaluated the usability of each company’s hardware and software offerings and how fair the contract terms are to merchants. Furthermore, we scrutinized the rates and fees each processor charges. To identify the best credit card processor for POS, we paid particular attention to POS hardware and POS features included in the software. 

Clover FAQs

Funds generally appear in your account within one to three business days. 

Contract terms and termination fees for Clover devices vary by provider, so be sure to review the terms of service. 

Bottom Line

We recommend Clover for …

  • Businesses that need a more advanced POS solution. 
  • Brick-and-mortar businesses that can benefit from the wide variety of POS hardware solutions Clover offers. 

We don’t recommend Clover for …

  • Business owners who want free hardware from their credit card processor. 
  • Businesses on a budget seeking the lowest processing rates. 
Mike Berner
Mike Berner
Senior Analyst & Expert on Business Operations
Mike Berner is a staff writer at business.com and Business News Daily, where he specializes in finance topics including business loans, accounting, and credit card processing. Mike has a deep background in the financial world, having written hundreds of articles and blog posts on financial markets, business and investing. He holds a B.A. in economics and a B.B.A. in finance, both from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. Prior to his writing career, he performed financial analysis and research as an economic analyst.
Clover logo
Editor's Rating9.2/10
BDC Logo

Get Weekly 5-Minute Business Advice

B. newsletter is your digest of bite-sized news, thought & brand leadership, and entertainment. All in one email.

Back to top